How to NOT build up your public #1: my art doesn’t exist

Versione in italiano qui


I’m a green writer. That is, more or less. Let’s say I do my best. I’ve self-published my first book and there will come others; even if at the moment I cannot know if from it there’ll come out something more than one of the many self-published titles scattered around the Web. I like to grapple with other art fields as well, so we can say that in general I’m an arty type in bud. Problem: for my art to not remain confined in some out-of-the-way corner of the Internet I need a fundamental thing, a public. How to earn a public? How the fuck do I know. I’ve really got no idea. Or maybe I can also have an idea, but then in reality either it’s of difficult implementation or it doesn’t work or maybe it’s just that I am a disaster. So here comes a short series of posts of self-analysis, self-pity, self-irony and self-contempt where I examine the reasons of my inability to get followers.

If you want to be successful, don’t do like I do.


My art doesn’t exist (and I’m interested in too many things)

This is valid also for the blog but especially for my Facebook page. Giving a look at various Facebook pages with a good number of followers, one of the first things I notice in almost all of them is that they have a precise subject to deal with. Feminism. LGBT rights. Writing. Politics. Animals. Humour. You name it, as long as it is a precise subject. There are rare exceptions to the posts, but indeed they are rare and usually one can find some connection with the main topic. Usually such exceptions are constituted by pages which already have a large public, so they can publish anything with simply written “Thoughts?” and the followers will somehow connect it to the main subject. My page doesn’t have a large following, only 14 followers whom I really thank from the bottom of my heart because in fact my page is mostly a big mess, so it’s not enough for me to write “thoughts” to get two hundred likes. (Am I measuring my success on the basis of the number of likes? Oh dear).

like
Well actually I try to do better than memes but… ah, whatever

This approach in fact makes sense. Few people follow a Facebook page without having in mind something they’re interested in. If I follow feminist pages, it’s because I’m interested in feminism, so I don’t expect to find the recipes of grandma, or advice about how to maintain your fish tank. The same for artists: if it’s a photographer there are his pictures, if it’s a painter her paintings, if a band there are concerts’ dates and advertisement for the albums.

feministgrandma
Unless of course you have this kind of grandma (who’s more an advocate for LGBT rights than feminism here but I needed a cool picture, from blindkomuso.tumblr.com)

I am an artist, or maybe I should say “I’d like to be an artist”, and indeed my Facebook page and my blog are aimed at promoting my art. And this is a problem, because my art practically doesn’t exist. I’ve written a book, sometimes poems, sometimes short stories. I’m trying to explore also other field. This stuff requires time. Surely I can’t write a book a day, and as much surely I can’t publish a post a day with written: “Go and see my book! Which one? Always the same one! Yeaaaahhhhhh!” It doesn’t work. So I often post and write about stuff I find interesting or funny, not only because I must admit I like to make myself known by people scattered at the four corners of Earth (have I ever told that I’m a megalomaniac?) but also because I have to entertain these poor devils while my art is taking shape. It’s not that I can turn up from out of the blue a nice day with all the stuff I have produced and demand that people be interested in it, I must let them know that I exist, first. Unfortunately, my interests are vast. Very vast. Politics, feminism, literature, music, gender, lots of stupid things too.
Result: my blog and my Facebook page have become the primordial soup of the stuff which goes through my head, with occasional reminders of the fact that, theoretically, I would be an arty guy and sometime I also create something.

nockerlsuppe-356435_1920
Uh… what’s that thing floating in there? A mutant? Looks like one of my thoughts in the early stages

Well, looking at the pages of certain artists one would think that this isn’t a catastrophic approach, after all. Many well-known artists speak fundamentally of their own business on their pages. They attract audience telling anything of their lives. How is it that it works with them? Simple: they’re already famous.


part 2 in the making… as all the rest…

3 thoughts on “How to NOT build up your public #1: my art doesn’t exist

Leave a Reply

