(Very) angry thoughts about a Trump supporter

Italian translation here.


About a Trump supporter that you wouldn’t expect, by the way. And at first I thought I was going to be polite, because you know, civilized exchange of opinions and so on, all beautiful things which I like as well, but… Who am I kidding, I’m just a hateful motherfucker. Shit, I started writing because I’m a hateful motherfucker. And I want to put on the mask of the politically correct philosopher? Do me a favour.
So you’ll find nothing nice or pleasant here. You’ve been warned.

The whole thing is born from this article, which I do encourage you to read:
https://www.washingtonpost.com/news/global-opinions/wp/2016/11/10/im-a-muslim-a-woman-and-an-immigrant-i-voted-for-trump/

“Finally, as a liberal Muslim who has experienced, first-hand, Islamic extremism in this world, I have been opposed to the decision by President Obama and the Democratic Party to tap dance around the “Islam in “Islamic State”. Of course, Trump’s rhetoric has been far more than indelicate and folks can have policy differences with his recommendations, but, to me, it has been exaggerated and demonized by the governments of Qatar and Saudi Arabia, their media channels, such as Al Jazeera, and their proxies in the West, in a convenient distraction from the issue that most worries me as a human being on this earth: extremist Islam of the kind that has spilled blood from the hallways of the Taj Mahal hotel in Mumbai to the dance floor of the Pulse nightclub in Orlando, Fla.”

“I wrote that as a child of India, arriving in the United States at the age of 4 in the summer of 1969, I have absolutely no fears about being a Muslim in a “Trump America.” The checks and balances in America and our rich history of social justice and civil rights will never allow the fear-mongering that has been attached to candidate Trump’s rhetoric to come to fruition.”

OK. So let’s see if I have understood properly: since she fears that a Hillary Clinton’s government would have been too mild with Islamic terrorists, she has contributed to elect Donald Trump. Who’s a misogynist, xenophobe, allied with highly homophobic and transphobic people, against abortion. She supports none of these ideologies! Nope, she voted for him only to contrast terrorism. You know who does support those ideologies, even if in a much harsher way than Donald Trump? Islamic terrorists. So let’s vote someone who has an ideology quite similar to the one of Islamic terrorists to contrast Islamic terrorists.

Hey, I’m aware Hillary Clinton was far from being perfect. But preferring Donald Trump to her is like saying hey, I think it’s really bad that Reactor nr. 4 exploded at Chernobyl, why don’t we make all the other reactors explode in order to solve the situation?

Then, you believe in “the checks and balances in America an our rich history of social justice and civil rights”? You’ve seriously gotta be shitting me. Are you telling me that racism, sexism, homophobia, discrimination, are not a serious thing in America? Are you telling me they’re not a serious thing in the West? You have to be blind, or pathologically optimist. Are you telling me that just because now things are not catastrophic you believe the probability of them becoming so is negligible? There’s always time to get worse! It’s kind of attitude which allows dictatorship and discrimination to come back in fashion in places where things seem to go well, or sort of well. Yeah, no worries,we’ll be fine, look, we live in a civilized country! Sure, and with your lack of attention to worrying signals you’re going to lose this civilization you’re so proud of.

And finally. How come that Trump’s misogyny and racism are not taken that seriously? She rejects them, all right, but she voted him nonetheless, even if they’ve been a very important part of his campaign. What makes them look tolerable in her eyes? When she’s so passionate about the lack of social justice in radical Islam? I’m not saying that Trump’s ideology and Islamic terrorism are the same, obviously. They aren’t. Still, as said I cannot help seeing some similarities. Worrying similarities. A sort of common view on how the world is supposed to work, only on enemy sides.
So again what makes them look tolerable? Is it because Trump wears a suit and a tie, and is white – pardon – orange? Were he brown, would his attitudes have been considered worse? I hope she’s aware that he’d probably like to grab her by the pussy and throw her out of the country. She’s female and Muslim. Bad combination indeed. But maybe she thinks that sexual assault coming from a white cock is sort of more acceptable than if it was a brown cock. Oh, I know thousands who think that! Not that it surprises me. I think it could be some sort of tribe culture. It’s OK if they’re “our males”, “our males” can sexually assault “our females”, boys will be boys after all. Crimes and discrimination are OK if they come from “our tribe”.

Well, what else can I say? She made her choice. I hope she’s right about this alleged love of America for social justice and civil rights. I do fucking hope she’s right. And I wish her good luck. I’m afraid she’s going to need a lot of it.

One thought on “(Very) angry thoughts about a Trump supporter

Leave a Reply

