I just want to drink my tea

Italian translation here.


Imagine this:

You: Oh, I so much like tea!

Someone: Oh? I thought you liked coffee.

Y: Mh… Coffee is nice from time to time, but tea is really the best! It gives me so much more satisfaction to drink it than coffee ^^

S: Well, that is really weird :/

Y: Uhm, I don’t find it so much weird you know ^^ *shrug* I’ve always thought tea was the best

S: Are you sure?

Y: Yes I really am!

S: Have you ever considered that it might be just a phase? Maybe in this moment of your life you’re very confused.

Y: No no, thanks for your interest, but I’m really fine ^^ Tea is definitely my thing.

S: Well, I have to disagree with you. Experience and statistics prove that the population group which you belong to prefers coffee. It’s written in your genes. So you must prefer coffee.

Y: … Well, then either I don’t belong to that population group or that assumption about that population group is wrong ^^ Isn’t it great to learn new things every day?

S: You’re just saying it as a stance, just to pretend to be different. I told you, everything proves that you must like coffee best. Why do you have to be so difficult? :S

Y: Uh… I don’t really think I need statistics to tell me what I like you know ^^;;; I know what goes through my own mind, and I know what my palate prefers. And it prefers tea! Look, there’s no need to be upset. You can like best tea or coffee independently from what I like. Or even orange juice for that matter! Right? The fact that my thing is tea doesn’t influence others’ life and it’s of no damage to anyone. So don’t worry ^^ I just want to drink my…

S: I’M NOT UPSET!!! WHAT MAKES YOU THINK I AM UPSET???!!! I’M JUST VERY BOTHERED BY SUCH AN UNREASONABLE AND CHILDISH STAND OF YOURS, DON’T YOU UNDERSTAND HOW SILLY YOU SOUND, EVERYTHING SAYS YOU LIKE COFFEE BEST AND HERE YOU ARE SAYING YOU INSTEAD LIKE TEA AND YOU’RE ALSO DRINKING IT!!! WHY DO YOU HAVE TO KEEP PRETENDING? WHAT DO YOU WANT TO PROVE, UH? DON’T YOU UNDERSTAND THAT THE LIFE OF EVERYONE WOULD BE SO MUCH BETTER IF YOU ACCEPTED THINGS AS THEY NATURALLY ARE??? YOU’RE JUST SHAPING UNNECESSARY PROBLEMS!

Y: … Great. Thanks a lot for your opinion. I’ll treasure it. Now, if you don’t mind, and actually also if you mind, I’m going to prepare my cup of tea.


Does this sound stupid? Silly? Outright idiotic?  Good. Now you know how it sounds when people try to convince gender non-conforming people of any kind that basically they don’t exist.

tea
Thanks for your opinion. Now I’m going to have my tea. (picture from Doctor Who)

 

One thought on “I just want to drink my tea

Leave a Reply

