Insomnia

This is a work of fiction. All the characters in this publication are fictitious and any resemblance to real persons, living or dead, or real events is purely coincidental.

Copyright © 2016 by Stardust a lost alien
All rights reserved.

Per l’italiano scorrere in basso.


While I was
drifting through the night
cradled in
the warm arms of sleep
I thought
I heard somebody calling
or maybe just
the faintest tinkling

So I sat up
and looked around me
but there was only you
sleeping by me

While I was
drifting through the night
I laid my eyes on you
and thought you looked like dead
I wanted to call you
but knew you wouldn’t answer
you were far away
unreachable by me
As you were dead…

Oh on this night
reality is breaking
I can feel
its surface crackling
Oh don’t you know at night
when the world’s asleep
what’s on the other side
comes seeping in

I never though
a room could be so scary
I didn’t know
you could be so still
But now I know
my scream won’t awake you
my tossing around
won’t make you move at all

I won’t reach you
as I’m on the other side
slipping, giving in
time for me to go…

Oh on this night
reality is breaking
I can feel
its surface crackling
Oh don’t you know at night
when the world’s asleep
what’s on the other side
comes seeping in

Reaching in
grabbing me

While I was
drifting through the night
I hugged you
and thought I was dreaming…


Traduzione in italiano (essendo la versione originale in inglese il ritmo e la musicalità vanno in gran parte persi).

Insonnia

Mentre stavo
scivolando nella notte
cullato
nelle calde braccia del sonno
ho creduto
di aver sentito qualcuno chiamare
o forse era solo
il più tenue dei tintinnii

Quindi mi sono messo a sedere
e mi sono guardato intorno
ma c’eri solo tu
addormentato accanto a me

Mentre stavo
scivolando nella notte
ho poggiato i miei occhi su di te
e ho pensato che sembravi morto
Volevo chiamarti
ma sapevo
che non avresti risposto
eri lontano
irraggiungibile da me
Come se fossi morto…

Oh in questa notte
la realtà si sta spaccando
posso sentire
la sua superficie crepitare
Oh non sai che di notte
quando il mondo è addormentato
ciò che è dall’altra parte
filtra dentro

Non ho mai pensato
che una stanza potesse fare così paura
non sapevo
che tu potessi essere così immobile
Ma adesso so
che il mio urlo non ti sveglierà
il mio agitarmi
non ti farà muovere di un pelo

Non ti raggiungerò
poiché sono dall’altra parte
mentre scivolo e cedo

Oh in questa notte
la realtà si sta spaccando
posso sentire
la sua superficie crepitare
Oh non sai che di notte
quando il mondo è addormentato
ciò che è dall’altra parte
filtra dentro

Allungandosi fino a qui
afferrandomi

Mentre stavo
scivolando nella notte
ti ho abbracciato
e ho pensato che stavo sognando…

Leave a Reply

